top of page

Everyone's an individual.

I want to make it clear that having an extra X will affect the individual in different ways (more so if they are mosaic). For example in documentation 'symptoms' state kidney or heart abnormalities which as far as I know, I don't have. All the possible conditions that are listed with Triple X are only 'more likely', not for definite. The things I mention in this blog may not be a trait that you (or your daughter/student) have. It is also difficult to know if various conditions are just me, or affect me because of the Triple X.

I strongly believe that the environment the female is brought up in is a huge factor in how they will develop. Thankfully in my childhood I was very lucky that my family were financially secure and were able to fund me to have private speech and language therapy (highly recommended!), they chose a supportive and nurturing school environment and were able to get me much needed extra lessons of English and Maths to help with the slow speed of my learning. Because of this I was able to pass my school exams, go to college and eventually go to uni- which I passed with a First Class Degree! I have grown up in a stable, loving family; home has been a rock for me throughout my life when the world has been unpredictable and fed into my heightened anxiety. Close relatives were told about my extra X which was important too so I had the support and understanding- which has been vital in my life.

All children have meltdowns, but the meltdowns and tantrums I experienced (I still have them occasionally) were for me, unavoidable. They boiled up from frustration, not being able to do what my older (unaffected and very academic) sister could do, feeling like a failure most of the time (because I didn't understand why I struggled with life), fatigue played a big part too as I have never been able to sleep well. The littlest thing like dropping a pencil on the floor was a huge deal; the end of the world! Instead of getting shouted at to calm down, or 'pull myself together' my family let me vent, they let me explode until I tired myself out and all was ok again. Shouting back will only fuel the fire. After work nowadays my mum still let's me have a rant, and a cool off after the day- just having someone to just listen and give a reassuring hug (a cup of tea and slice of cake works too) is what we girls need.

A low IQ is often mentioned in Triple X documentation. I come from an academic family background so compared to many of my peers due to the school support and people I've grown up around I wouldn't say a low IQ affects me. My processing speeds are much slower: I have Auditory Processing Delay and poor short term memory but I have strategies now as an adult to combat this.

Going back to the family environment I am the spitting image (mentally) to my mum. We are very close and of course a lot of who I am comes from her (err thanks mum!?). She has never been tested to see if she also has Triple X Syndrome but she too has high anxiety and a host of other things that I have experienced. They say Triple X is not hereditary but who knows, it would be very interesting to find out more!

I now work with children with learning difficulties which has made me more appreciative that not one size fits all. It's a trial and error process. Different strategies work for different people. Patience is what girls with triple X need. Patience, understanding and time.

Tune in soon for more (hopefully helpful!) information!

bottom of page