top of page

Hypotonia

As I mentioned in my Triple X from a Parent View: Baby to Early Childhood post I suffered from weak ankles as a child and had special support boots to strengthen them.

Weak muscle tone also known as Hypotonia is common in Triple X girls. I can now wear normal shoes and have little trouble with my ankles although in my teen years I became aware that my left ankle was more difficult to balance on when I was learning to ice skate.

As a child I often complained about achy legs. Perhaps it was dehydration or growing pains but either way they started to ache at bed time and there was many a night where my mum stayed with me, stroking my legs to make the aches go away and soothe me to sleep. This doesn't happen now and they will only ache if I'm worn down.

I have always noticed aches in my hands. It doesn't affect me doing things but I will clench my fists or stretch out my fingers every so often. I have also felt that the left side of my body is generally weaker than my right which is a bit odd. I find it very uncomfortable to wear a watch on my left wrist as is traditional.

I don't have very much upper body strength and my stamina is a lot lower than the average person so carrying bulky items is a struggle. I will also tire quickly.

I've come to the conclusion that the Hypotonia affects me inside as well as out. As I mentioned in my Stomach Problems Post at times of stress my digestive system seems to slow down or stop altogether resulting in food rotting/fermenting inside me and then creating this horrible sulphuric gas and vomiting/ diarrhoea. This has not been diagnosed, but is my theory.

As a child I often came home from school in changed underwear. This was because after going to the toilet my bladder would leak out more urine. This still happens a lot. I think this is hypotonia in my bladder and have read of someone else with triple x in a support group having this issue. I wear panty liners or bring a change of underwear if I'm out all day.

Does anyone else have these aches and pains too? I'd be interested to know if they affect your body inside too.

bottom of page